Dough recipe for Carnivores

pancakes, bread, waffles... Oh My!

Steak, hamburgers, bacon… yes, they are all delicious. However, when that is all you eat, it can make it difficult to stick to a carnivore diet. Eventually we all miss bread and pastry. In honor of all of you who are missing that fluffy, bready, soft on the inside, yummy-ness, I am going to share my favorite recipe to remedy this craving!

You can make this batter with any meat; ground pork, chicken, etc., but I mainly make this recipe with ground beef. Most importantly, I recommend using a high powered blender like the VitaMix or Ninja. These will give you the smoothest consistency.

If you want to make a loaf of “bread” double the recipe to fit in a loaf pan. My favorite way to use this batter is in my waffle maker, but I have also made pancakes and bread.

I do like the buttery flavor of ghee in this recipe, but I have had success with tallow and bacon fat as well. I also love to make bacon with my “waffles” and pour the bacon fat onto the “waffles”.

Meat Waffles

  • 1 pound ground beef

  • 4-6 eggs

  • 1 Tbls ghee

  • 1 Tbls salt

  • cook ground beef in ghee over medium high heat and sprinkle salt on while cooking.

  • let the beef cool for a few minutes. Do not wait too long, or the ghee will solidify.

  • add your cooked meat, melted fat and eggs to your blender. The more eggs you add, the more liquid the batter is. For waffles and bread, use less eggs and for smooth pancakes, use more eggs.

  • process batter for 2-3 minutes, pause to check the consistency and to scrape down sides if needed. Voila! Your batter is ready!

To make bread

- preheat your oven to 350F. Check for doneness in 30 minutes. A toothpick should come out clean. Check every 5 minutes until done. “Bread” will be firm to the touch and slightly toasted on the outside.

To make waffles

-preheat your waffle maker while processing batter in the blender. Cook waffles for 4 minutes and let cool on a wire rack.

To make pancakes

-pour ½ C batter onto skillet. Cook until small bubbles form, usually 2-3 minutes, then flip over and cook for 1 minute.

Did you make these? I’d love to hear what you used this carnivore batter for!

Reply

or to participate.